old friends

The past week has been great getting used to myspace and seeing pictures and reading about lives of people that I actaully know! I’ve had previous experiences of “meeting” people online, but in my mind they have been little more than characters in a novel. Not so those I’ve “spoken” to this past week. At least some point in our lives, whether in the past, present, or some combination, we have had shared conversations, school projects, experiences, pains, hurts, joys, etc. Face to face!

I was reading a blog written by one such friend earlier today speaking of the human tendency to want time to “freeze” in our memories. Somehow we feel that it’s okay for us to grow, develop and change, but we like those people we know to always remain the same. I know that I can relate to such a view. Why are we surprised when those we once thought we “knew” have changed in a dramatic way?

As much as I would like to think that I could make better decisions for each person that seems to have made “wrong” decisions, I must be honest and say that I don’t have the capability to make good decisions for myself. How arrogant I must be to think I can make decisions for your life! Perhaps the root lies in the fact that we all wish to feel justified for our decisions and actions. If I can point out what seems to be a “bad” decision in your life, than surely I’m doing better for myself.

Many criticisms could be made as to how this world was created and set in motion. When I’m honest with myself, however, I must admit that I don’t have the knowledge or wisdom to better create our glorious world. It seems genius to me that we all have the free will to make our own decisions and respond to our creator.

I have enjoyed each of the moments I have had the opportunity to share in with each “my space friends” and all others. I look forward to many more experiences with you all and whomever God sends into my path or me into theirs…

Leave a comment

Filed under Randomness

Leave a Reply

