Randomness

Well, okay, so I haven’t posted on here in quite some time. If anyone comes across this blog and wish to read more, please visit me on myspace at: myspace.com/redeemed_ragamuffin

Our weather here has been beautiful as of late! We have been blessed with a wonderful spring. Nevertheless, summer has come. Yet a week still until Memorial day and our temperatures have hit near 90 and humidity has been high. Such is the summer in the deep south, I suppose!

“‘Oh, the depth of the riches and wisdom and knowledge of God! How unsearchable are his judgments and how inscrutable his ways! For who has known the mind of the Lord, or who has been his counselor? Or who has given a gift to him that he might be repaid?’ For from him and through him and to him are all things. To him be glory forever. Amen. ” – Romans 11:33-36

I’ve been listening to sermons/teaching from several theologically reformed ministers lately, specifically a series from a seminar by pastor and author, John Piper (www.desiringgod.org) going through the 5 points of reformed theology (TULIP) and explaining/arguing the case biblically. It’s spurred a lot of thought and though I still have one session to go before I finish the TULIP seminar, I don’t know how to take it all. I’m not new to this argument, by the way, nor to I wish to align myself with either the Calvinism group nor the Arminian group, though to listen to arguments from either side, an assumption seems to exist that all of Christendom must align with one or the other schools of thought. For me, it all comes down to semantics – specifially what is meant by each of the points and what scriptures (texts) are used in the argument. I have to say, at this point in my life and understanding anyway, that the truth must lie somewhere between the two or perhaps an overlapping of the two. Isn’t God big enough to be BOTH and not so much either/or???

Thus ends my randomness for today. This is a day the Lord has made. Let us rejoice and be glad in it! Psalms 118:24

Leave a comment

Filed under Scripture

Leave a Reply

