I have subscribers?

Okay, so I don’t post that often, but I thought I’d sign-in to feedburner to see what activity there is on my blog… I have subscribers! Okay, so I’m one (I subscribed just cause it’s cool to see my own words in Google reader). Any of you can feel free to comment!

I’m not a theologian by trade (although wouldn’t really complain if God saw fit to send me off to seminary some time), nor am I a pastor. I have served as a part-time youth minister in the past, am an avid youth worker, amatuer worship leader, and currently serve as a deacon in my local body. I don’t know what credibility those credentials give me, but nevertheless this is my blog and I will write what I think.

I have recently (and frequently, by the way) encountered opposition from the emergent church and some from the reformed community (particularly john piper, mark driscoll and sam storm. (I’m pretty ignorant of the thoughts, beliefs, etc. of the diverse movement, but I have read A Generous Orthodoxy by Brian McLaren

The opposition, as I understand it, is that the emergent church is not only questioning methods, but also questioning the pillars of faith. If that’s the case, I don’t want to be a part of it. Culture has changed dramatically and the church methodology must be changed, but scripture and doctrine must remain. If the bible says it, I believe it, end of story!

Plenty of words thus far and I will end here. Perhaps more later…

Leave a comment

Filed under Church

Leave a Reply

