Without Thy Sweet Mercy

The song playing in my mind is this: “Thy mercy, my God, is the theme of my song, the joy of my heart and the boast of my tongue…” (“Thy Mercy” Caedmon’s Call on In the Company of Angels)

I completed my readings of Leviticus during my morning devotion time yesterday and today began reading Deuteronomy. (I know that Numbers is next, but Leviticus and Numbers back-to-back is just too much!) Deuteronomy begins with an overview of God’s providence and mercy in the life of Israel throughout their wilderness wanderings and I shut the bible with a great thankfulness for God and His mercy over his children.

“Without thy sweet mercy I could not live here! Sin would reduce me to utter dispair. But through thy free goodness my spirits revive and he that first made me still keeps me alive…”

Leave a comment

Filed under Church, Mercy

Leave a Reply

