In view of the mercies of God…

This morning I awoke to the annoying sound of an alarm, took a shower, and began brewing coffee.  The house is quiet and warm, with the remainder of the members of my house still resting in their beds.  I open the front door ever so slightly to check the coolness of the air and glance to my left to see the sun’s rays of light just beaming over the eastern trees.

Yesterday’s bible study lesson centered around Romans 12:  “I appeal to you therefore, brothers, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God, which is your spiritual worship.” (verse 1)  I must admit that I am surrounded by “the mercies of God” as I begin this day:

-By His mercy I am awake, alive, and breathing (albeit congested in both my head and chest).

-By His mercy my family is resting in their beds.

-By His mercy I have a job to prepare for this morning.

-By His mercy I am warm, safe, and healthy.

-By His mercy I have the scriptures and the Holy Spirit to read and seek his truth this morning.

-By His mercy I am assured that nothing can separate me from the love of God; all things work together for the good for those who love God and are called according to His purpose; that if I confess my sins He is faithful and just to forgive me my sins and cleanse me from all unrighteousness…

Praise God for His mercy!  Teach me how to offer my body as a living sacrifice,  holy and acceptable to God; to not be conformed any longer to the pattern of this world but to be transformed by the renewing of my mind.  Teach me, O Lord, I pray…  Amen.

Leave a comment

Filed under Mercy

Leave a Reply

