Reading List: 2009

I was able to finish God is the Gospel by John Piper just before Christmas and finished Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen at 11:10pm on New Year’s Eve.

Here’s my reading list for 2009. I wonder how many I’ll get through this year? (in no particular order)

Need to finish:
1. Confessions of St. Augustine
2. Surprised by Joy by C.S. Lewis
3. William Tyndale: A Biography by David Daniell

Have been on my shelf/reading list for WAY too long and need to read:
1. Captivating by John and Stasi Elredge (tops on the list by recommendation of my wife)
2. One of the Philip Yancey books we have: The Jesus I Never Knew, The Bible Jesus Read (the book, not the participant’s guide), and we have at least one other…

Other books on my reading wish list:
1. One of Rob Bell’s works: SexGod, Velvet Elvis, etc.
2. The Life and Diary of David Brainerd by Jonathan Edwards (yet another biography)
3. Knowing God by J.I. Packer
4. At least one work by a Puritan writer – John Owen, Richard Baxter, etc.
5. Taste and See by John Piper
6. A Practical View of Christianity by William Wilberforce
7. Calvinism: A Southern Baptist Dialogue by Brad J. Waggoner and E. Ray Clendenen
8. Why We’re Not Emergent: By Two Guys Who Should Be by Kevin DeYoung and Ted Kluck

Re-reads:
1. A Purpose-Driven Youth Ministry by Doug Fields and Rick Warren
2. One or both of the following by Brennan Manning: The Ragamuffin Gospel and/or Abba’s Child

Fiction/Fun:
– I’ll probably read a Cussler book or two (The Navigator, Treasure of Kahn, etc.)
– I’ll most likely read at least one of John Grisham’s latest (The Appeal and/or the one coming out in January 09: The Associate)
– I may attempt another of Jane Austen’s works. If so, most likely it would be Emma.
– Several years ago I read (mostly) through Ben Hur and I’m sure my wife would like me to finish that one, too. We’ll see.
The Soul of Baseball: A Road Trip Through Buck O’Neil’s America by Joe Posnanski

17 Comments

Filed under Reading List

17 responses to “Reading List: 2009

  1. You’ll love William Tyndale by David Daniell, I read it a couple of years ago, sometimes its very heavy & detailed but is brilliant.
    Tyndale is a great testimony of God’s grace to the church.

  2. Jo

    (Jo speaking here) SexGod? Velvet Elvis? I’ve heard of these books but know nothing about them. Why’d they make the list?

  3. Brian

    Jo,
    From what I’ve heard/read about Rob Bell, my instinct is to greatly criticize him, but the better part of me thinks I should AT LEAST read one of his books before making a final judgement.

  4. Brian

    Well, January has ended and I’ve read two books:

    Captivating by the Eldredges
    and
    The Appeal by John Grisham

    Also, now that we have cable internet I’ve listened to Rob Bell a bit and now have no interest in reading his writings. I may re-evaluate at another time, but for now he’s off the list.

    On to more books!

  5. Brian

    I’ve recently acquired another baseball book that I would like to add to the list:

    Clemente: The Passion and Grace of Baseball’s Last Hero by David Maraniss

  6. Pingback: On Being Southern Baptist… « A Ragamuffin’s Reflections

  7. Brian

    I finished J.I. Packer’s Knowing God just before the end of March. It took me two months, but boy was it worth it!

  8. Brian

    We’re now into May – I read “Raising a Modern Day Night” by Robert Lewis – incredible book! A must-read for any dad of a son. We MUST turn our boys into men – society needs a good dose of authentic manhood.

  9. Brian

    I’ve completed Clemente by David Maraniss. Great book! I’ve also read two of the Chronicles of Narnia: The Last Battle and The Voyage of the Dawn Treader. I know that I read them out of order, but I read them nonetheless. Both were quite good and I think the Voyage of the Dawn Treader has to be one of the best kids stories ever written. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

    I’ve re-checked William Tyndale: A Biography by David Daniell from the local library and am planning on finishing it this time before returning.

    Also in progress: Confessions (slowly, small pieces at a time) and The Ragamuffin Gospel (a re-read (4th, perhaps?)).

  10. Brian

    Since it is October 6th, I think I can definitively say that I will not finish this reading list in 2009. But, I don’t have a reason that I HAVE to finish it, so it’s really just a guide.

    I started The Soul of Baseball by Joe Posnanski on Friday and finished it today: Great book! I highly recommend that to any baseball lover. I wish there were more stories from and about Buck O’Neil. Someday soon I hope to go to the Negro Leagues Baseball Museum in Kansas City.

    I had checked-out the Tyndale book once more but because I didn’t realize you couldn’t re-check a book more than once I had to return it to the library. It’s a great book and I intend to finish it at some point in the near future. I’ll just have to go back to the library to check it out (when I can find it on the shelf, according to the librarian).

    I’ve read a little here and there from Augustine’s Confessions. I may seek out a more modern translation to finish the work.

  11. Brian

    I read The Jesus I Never Knew by Philip Yancey, finishing it just last night. I should’ve read it years ago.

    I need to go by the library to check out the Tyndale book to finish it, but since the library card is in Jo’s name I have to think ahead. So far, I haven’t done that very well…

    What’s next to read? A re-read of Frank Peretti’s The Oath.

  12. Brian

    This was NOT on my list for 2009, but yesterday I finished a re-read of The Oath (novel) by Frank Peretti. It’s been 12 or 13 years since I read it the first time and I like it even more now. It’s an awesome analogy – I’ll leave details off in order to preserve the plot line, but it’s an absolute must-read. I think I like The Oath best of all of his work, and he’s created some great books.

  13. Brian

    I recently read C. S. Lewis’s The Silver Chair, book 6 of the Narnia series which was the final one for me to read.

    I’m now reading through Why we’re not Emergent by DeYoung and Kluck.

  14. Pingback: What I read in 2009 « A Ragamuffin’s Reflections

  15. Pingback: Reading List 2010 « A Ragamuffin’s Reflections

  16. Pingback: Goals for the New Year « Press on Toward the Mark

  17. Pingback: Goals for the New Year | Notes from Crane Lane

Leave a Reply

