Until the Spirit is poured upon us from on high

“For the palace is forsaken, the populous city deserted; the hill and the watchtower will become dens forever, a joy of wild donkeys, a pasture of flocks; until the Spirit is poured upon us from on high, and the wilderness becomes a fruitful field, and the fruitful field is deemed a forest.

“Then justice will dwell in the wilderness, and righteousness abide in the fruitful field. And the effect of righteousness will be peace, and the result of righteousness, quietness and trust forever. My people will abide in a peaceful habitation, in secure dwellings, and in quiet resting places.” Isaiah 32:14-18

The last two weekends have been packed with activity, including Joshua’s birthday right in the middle. This week I’m feeling the effects. I more greatly feel the weight of the pains, struggles, battles, hurts, worries, concerns, family strife, etc. of the people in my life. The emotional weight is more than I can bear and each day thus far I’ve just wanted to get through to the end so I can, once more, attempt to catch up on my sleep.

I am weary, in (nearly) every sense of the word.

In this morning’s reading, I’m reminded that the world has been subjected to futility. I don’t really need this reminder, do I? That reality is ever-present and difficult for me to forget! No, it’s not the world’s futility that I need reminding of early this morning, it’s that “until the Spirit is poured upon us from on high” I can seek to do nothing to change the course of events. Nothing, that is, without God’s Holy Spirit producing that work both in and through my life.

Restore to me the joy of your salvation! Work in my life and in my heart to trust in You and not to lean on my own understanding of things. Place in me a passion to seek and to know You, Jesus, and the power of Your resurrection in my everyday life. Help me to get out of the way and seek to let Your glory shine…

Leave a comment

Filed under Mercy, Scripture

Leave a Reply

