What I read in 2009

This has been the second year that I’ve actually made a reading list and the first that I’ve used my blog site to track my reading. It’s encouraging to look back and see progress over the year as well has helps to remember what was read and what was gleaned from each book.

That having been said, here was 2009:

These books I read parts, much, or most of (but did not complete for one reason or another):

  • William Tyndale: A Biography by David Daniell (actually I only need to re-check the book from the library once more and read the last 200 pages)
  • Taste and See by John Piper(it’s a collection of articles)
  • Calvinism: A Southern Baptist Dialogue by Brad J. Waggoner and E. Ray Clendenen(also a collection of articles/essays)
  • Confessions of St. Augustine
  • A Purpose-Driven Youth Ministry by Doug Fields and Rick Warren
  • Emma
  • The following books I began and completed within this past year:

    Non-Fiction (Christian Living/Theology):

  • Captivating by John and Stasi Elredge
  • The Jesus I Never Knew
  • Knowing God by J.I. Packer
  • Non-Fiction (Christian Living/Parenting):

  • Raising a Modern Day Night by Robert Lewis
  • Non-Fiction (Theology/Youth Ministry):

  • ReThink by Steve Wright
  • Non-Fiction (Biography/Baseball):

  • Clemente: The Passion and Grace of Baseball’s Last Hero by David Maraniss
  • The Soul of Baseball: A Road Trip Through Buck O’Neil’s America by Joe Posnanski
  • Fiction:

  • The Appeal by John Grisham
  • Chronicles of Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader
  • Chronicles of Narnia: The Silver Chair
  • Chronicles of Narnia: The Last Battle
  • (which completes my reading of the Narnia books – I wish I had read them as a young boy, but I didn’t know of them until my college days)

    The following books were re-reads:

  • The Ragamuffin Gospel by Brennan Manning
  • (4th re-read, I think)

  • The Oath by Frank Peretti
  • (2nd reading, the first was 12 or 13 years ago)

    I’m currently in the process of reading (about halfway through):

  • Why We’re Not Emergent: By Two Guys Who Should Be by Kevin DeYoung and Ted Kluck
  • Reading list for 2010 to be posted soon! Happy New Year!

    3 Comments

    Filed under Reading List

    3 responses to “What I read in 2009

    1. Pingback: Reading List 2010 « A Ragamuffin’s Reflections

    2. Pingback: Goals for the New Year « Press on Toward the Mark

    3. Pingback: Goals for the New Year | Notes from Crane Lane

    Leave a Reply

    