On What are you Setting Your Hope?

This was written for and first posted at Treasuring Christ Please visit that site and subscribe.

1 Peter 1:13 reads:

“Set your hope fully on the grace that will be brought to you at the revelation of Jesus Christ”

NOT on food or my physical health.
NOT on the economy or my job security.
NOT on my bank account or on the next pay day.
NOT on my accomplishments, professional training or on the strentgh or ability of my hands.
NOT my children or their performance in competitive sports, academic achievement or artistic ability.
NOT on my ability to communicate.
NOT on my wife.
NOT on entertainment or my next hiking trip.
NOT on the day when I can play the guitar like Phil Keaggy or the hammered dulcimer like Rich Mullins.

No, I am to set my hope fully – not in part – on the grace brought to me at the revelation of Jesus Christ. Not on today’s grace, though Paul was told that His grace was sufficient in Paul’s weakness (2 Corinthians 12:9) and it is sufficient for me for today. No, I am to set my hope fully on the grace to be brought at the revelation of Jesus Christ.

That’s a long way ahead (presumably). This means the life of a Christian is akin to running a long-distance race. There’s a lot at stake, but endurance is key. We must set our hope fully at the end. I am to keep my eyes heavenward (Philippians 3:12-14)when I shall be forever freed from the mess that sin has wrought around and within me. Thankfully, we are also reminded that “hope does not disappoint because the love of God has been poured out in our hearts by the Holy Spirit” Romans 5:5.

Brothers, it’s a long race. Keep your eyes on the prize and I will see you at the end.

2 Comments

Filed under holiness

2 responses to “On What are you Setting Your Hope?

  1. Brian

    Thank you for your comment, Gary, and thank you for reading. I hope life is going well for you across the pond.

Leave a Reply

