We’ll Battle to the End

The use and singing of old songs many call “hymns” appears to be fading away. In our church, both then and now, we still sing a steady diet of many old songs, and I have learned to cherish such a heritage.

I am in no way in the hymn-only crowd or anti-new song. There have been many great congregational songs written in recent years; however, over the past 4 or 5 years the old songs have become much more precious to me. I want to know what the saints of old clung to; what helped them through day-to-day trials. Thankfully, many of them wrote both in prose as well as poetry.

As I’ve paid more attention to the specific songs and song-writers, I’ve realized that many of my very favorite hymns were written by one person: Fanny Crosby. Fanny is a lady I would like to learn more about, and one whom I hope to be able to sit with a while some afternoon in glory, perhaps even to strum the guitar while she spouts off God-honoring poetry.

Cyber Hymnal lists about 440 known song titles (though it’s estimated she wrote ~8,000) and looking through some the other day I saw one which I did not know, but the lyrics resonated within me and support the purpose of this blog perfectly. I thought I would share it with you:

We’ll Battle to the End
A Hymn by Fanny Crosby

Gird on, gird on your armor, and away,
Like heroes be firm and true;
Lead on your ranks to battle for the Lord,
Who triumphed over death and the grave for you.

Refrain

We’ll battle to the end, we’ll battle to the end,
And then our crown we’ll wear;
We’ll gather on the shore, rejoicing evermore,
With all the noble army there.

Our foes are strong, but greater far is He
Whose arm is our strength and shield;
March on, march on with bold and fearless tread;
We’ll conquer by His grace, but we’ll never yield.

Refrain

No falt’ring step, no faint and fearful heart,
No truce with the hosts of sin;
Be strong in Him, our never failing trust;
Remember there’s a palm and a crown to win.

Refrain

Let us press on. Let’s endure to the end. It will require a battle, but thankfully, the war has already been won.

    “I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.” ESV
2 Comments

Filed under Press On

2 responses to “We’ll Battle to the End

  1. Brian, I must agree. She has written some amazing hymns with amazing content. I must also say that I agree on the point of enjoying the old hymns and songs of the faith more and more, not because of style as much as because of content. Much of contemporary music has abandoned the solid, biblical, truth-teaching purpose of many of the songs of yesteryear.

  2. Thanks for your comment, Bro. Todd, and welcome to the world of wordpress!

    Certainly, musical styles will (and perhaps must?) change from generation to generation, but there is such richness in songs from through the ages… After all, there are reasons generations upon generations have continued singing them, isn’t there?

Leave a Reply

