Reading List 2011

As do all years, 2010 is coming to a close and it’s about time for me to review the past year and look forward into 2011. Here’s my planned reading list for 2011 (in no particular order):

New books:

  • Her Heart Can See: Life and Hymns of Fanny J. Crosby by Edith L. Blumhofer
  • Then Sings My Soul: 150 of the World’s Greatest Hymn Stories by Robert J. Morgan
  • The Promise: God Works All Things Together for Your Good by Robert J. Morgan
  • In addition to the three books, I was also given a Kindle – Yay! So, in 2011 I fully intend to enter the world of ebooks, diving in headlong. Here are the Kindle books that I plan to read (that I already own):

  • The Idiot by Fyodor Dostoyevsky
  • Luke by John MacArthur (study guide series)
  • Pilgrim’s Progress by John Bunyan
  • Orthodoxy by G.K. Chesterton
  • Trusting God: Even When Life Hurts by Gerald Bridges
  • Books on the shelf:

  • Come Thou Long-Expected Jesus edited by Nancy GuthrieI read several of the selections this advent season and I suspect it will become a tradition.
  • The Reformed Pastor by Richard Baxter
  • The Saints’ Everlasting Rest by Richard Baxter This one I began in 2010, but only briefly.
  • The Bondage of the Will by Martin Luther I also read parts of The Bondage of the Will during 2010, but I want to plan to complete my first reading of this old classic in 2011.
  • Ministries of Mercy by Tim Keller
  • Simple Church by Thom Rainer and Eric Geiger
  • Emma
  • A Practical View of Christianity by William Wilberforce
  • I plan to go back and finish (perhaps I need to start at the beginning) Ben Hur. I read about half a few years back, and though I enjoyed it I sat it down never to return. In 2011, I plan to make my return.
  • Last year I wrote that I should read Jane Eyre and this year Jo has specifically asked me to do so. I will set Jane Eyre as a priority in 2011.
  • Advertisements

    16 Comments

    Filed under Reading List

    16 responses to “Reading List 2011

    1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Reading List 2010 « A Ragamuffin’s Reflections -- Topsy.com

    2. I enjoyed the reading list for 2010 and plans for 2011. It is always good to have several books going at once and to have books you dip into and books you read cover to cover. And it is good to have easy reads mixed alongside the harder ones. And perseverance is essential. I will be posting some of the best of 2010 before long.

    3. Pingback: Goals for the New Year « Press on Toward the Mark

    4. Pingback: Goals for the New Year | Notes from Crane Lane

    5. Pingback: Blogging Plan for 2011 | Notes from Crane Lane

    6. I’ve read Jane Eyre. That was first on my list per my wife’s request.

      I then read The Promise, by Robert Morgan, and recently finished Sun Stand Still by Steven Furtick (for blogging for books with Multnomah – review to be posted sometime soon).

      I’m working through Her Heart Can See, the Fanny Crosby story and am enjoying it greatly.

    7. I was able to finish Her Heart Can See on Sunday night. Though I typically love it when I finish a book, I was sad to see that one end. I thoroughly enjoyed reading about Fanny Crosby’s life and the evangelical world in which she lived.

    8. Just completed Veeck as in Wreck – it was a very enjoyable book and I’m glad I had the foresight to pick it off the used-book stand a few years back.

    9. I think I’ve lost track of my reading for the year. Here’s what I can remember:

      I started “Simple Church” by Thom Rainer, but sat it down and haven’t finished it.

      I listened to “Adopted for Life” By Russell Moore from christianaudio.com when Jo and I drove to Louisville, KY.

      Just this week, I read Rob Bell’s “Love Wins”. This book is filled with heresy. I will review it at some point, but I am in no hurry.

      I’ve read some of “A God-Entranced Vision of All Things” by John Piper and Justin Taylor and have begun re-reading Desiring God.

      I’ve also read much of Jerry Bridges’ Trusting God as well as just started a re-read of Max Lucado’s Six Hours One Friday.

      I think that catches things up to date.

    10. Yesterday, I finished both Lucado’s Six Hours One Friday and Bridges’ Trusting God.

      I’ve had my eye on a book for a while and recently stopped by our local Books-A-Million to find a hardback copy on the $1 rack. I bought it and thus far find it thoroughly enjoyable – John Feinstein’s Living on the Black (baseball book which chronicles the 2007 season in New York with Mike Mussina and Tom Glavine) – a 2nd baseball read this year!

    11. Since last update, I’ve read Living on the Black by John Feinstein, the Monster in the Hallows by Andrew Peterson and just finished Pilgrim’s Progress by John Bunyan.

      If I’ve read more I’ve forgotten. I think that catches things up to date.

      So many of my books are packed away for the move. I still need to finish Simple Church and am currently reading The Magician’s Nephew to Joshua (and Aidan likes it, too!). I don’t know what else I might find to read. We shall see…

    12. Thanks to free Kindle books, today I was able to finish reading A.W. Tozer’s Pursuit of God.

      I began reading G.K. Chesterton’s Orthodoxy, but I just couldn’t get into his argument – I didn’t know what he was arguing for, or against, and simply tired in attempting to follow his logic. I may go back to it, but I’m not sure.

      Begnning James Fennimore Cooper’s Last of the Mohicians brought difficulty as well. His writing is extremely detailed and took reading and re-reading to understand. I am determined to read at least one of his works, so I’ll probably return to it.

      Recently, I signed up with booksneeze.com for books for blogging review – BookSneeze allows for eReader use and I downloaded Max Lucado’s Cure for the Common Life for reading and reviewing. I started it earlier today, but i know from experience that his books are best read one chapter at a time.

    13. I’ve completed in the last couple of months:

      Max Lucado’s Cure for the Common Life
      Average Joe by Troy Meeder
      Not a Fan by Kyle Idleman
      Erasing Hell by Francis Chan
      The Reason for God by Tim Keller
      The Confession by John Grisham
      re-read The Summons by John Grisham

    14. Reading update:

      completed Men of the Bible by D.L. Moody
      A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens
      10 Questions to Diagnose Your Spiritual Health by Donald S. Whitney

      I read The Count of Monte Cristo for a while, but have put it aside for now

    15. I completed Luke by John MacArthur and I have been reading:

      Uncle Tom’s Cabin by Harriet Beecher Stowe
      The Reformed Pastor by Richard Baxter

      and have finished reading to Joshua these four books:

      How to train your Dragon
      How to be a Pirate
      How to Speak Dragonese
      How to Cheat a Dragon’s Curse

      and tonight began the 5th book of the saga,
      How to Twist a Dragon’s Tale

    16. Pingback: Reading List in Review: 2011 | Notes from Crane Lane

    Leave a Reply

    