Goals for the New Year

This past Wednesday Night I challenged our teens to take time at the new year to both review the past several months and make goals for the new year. In doing so, I pointed them to three different scriptures to use for goal-setting:

  • 1 Corinthians 10:3:1 “So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.”
  • Proverbs 30:7-9: “Two things I ask of you; deny them not to me before I die: Remove far from me falsehood and lying; give me neither poverty nor riches; feed me with the food that is needful for me, lest I be full and deny you and say, ‘Who is the LORD?’ or lest I be poor and steal and profane the name of my God.”
  • Hebrews 6:1-3: “Therefore let us leave the elementary doctrine of Christ and go on to maturity, not laying again a foundation of repentance from dead works and of faith toward God, and of instruction about washings, the laying on of hands, the resurrection of the dead, and eternal judgment. And this we will do if God permits.”
  • What goals will you make for 2011?

  • Justin Taylor points to several articles worth considering regarding goals/resolutions for the new year.
  • How will you read the Bible in 2011? Genesis, Exodus, et al.? Chronologically?

  • Justin Taylor also points to several Bible reading plans and I like the look of the plan that Stephen Witmer describes on his blog over at The Gospel Coalition (TGC). You can find the link for the .pdf in the full post or follow this link.
  • In addition, the past several years I’ve reviewed my reading for the past year and made a reading list for the following year:

  • Reading List: 2008
  • Reading List: 2009
  • What I read in 2009
  • Reading List: 2010
  • What I read in 2010
  • Reading List: 2011
  • What do you plan to read? Are there any suggestions you’d like to make?

    Happy New Year!

      “I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.” Phil 3:14 ESV
    2 Comments

    Filed under Press On

    2 responses to “Goals for the New Year

    1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Goals for the New Year « Press on Toward the Mark -- Topsy.com

    2. I use the reading plans at http://www.examen.me. Its a free online site that has over 30 different long and short term reading plans available. Two great things about this site 1: I can read the Bible, listen to the Bible, journal and pray all in my free account on the site. My journals are then either saved to my account, downloaded to a PDF file, or emailed to me. 2: I don’t have to do my reading plan in consecutive days. Day 2 is available for me to access as soon as I finish day 1. This means I can finish a 14 day plan in 3 days, 14 consecutive days, or 14 days throughout the year. With all the different options and with the flexibility of the plans, this really is a great option.

    Leave a Reply

    