Do you Love Him?

Do you love God? How do you know? How could you use the bible to counsel someone to help them answer this question?

Robert Morgan, in his book The Promise, pulls 6 questions from scripture to help us answer this question:

1. Have I committed my life to Jesus Christ as my Savior and Lord?

Jesus said to them, “If God were your Father, you would love me, for I came from God and I am here. I came not of my own accord, but he sent me.” John 8:42

Everyone who believes that Jesus is the Christ has been born of God, and everyone who loves the Father loves whoever has been born of him. 1 John 5:1

2. Do I obey His Word in my daily life?

For this is the love of God, that we keep his commandments. And his commandments are not burdensome.1 John 5:3

Loving the LORD your God, obeying his voice and holding fast to him, for he is your life and length of days… Deuteronomy 30:20

3. Do I enjoy worshipping Him?

But may all who seek you rejoice and be glad in you; may those who love your salvation say continually, “Great is the LORD!” Psalm 40:16

4. Is my lifestyle holy?

Do not love the world or the things in the world. If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him. For all that is in the world—the desires of the flesh and the desires of the eyes and pride in possessions—is not from the Father but is from the world. And the world is passing away along with its desires, but whoever does the will of God abides forever. 1 John 2:15-17

5. Do I radiate His joy?

But let all who take refuge in you rejoice; let them ever sing for joy, and spread your protection over them, that those who love your name may exult in you. Psalm 5:11

6. How much do I really like other people?

If anyone says, “I love God,” and hates his brother, he is a liar; for he who does not love his brother whom he has seen cannot love God whom he has not seen. And this commandment we have from him: whoever loves God must also love his brother. 1 John 4:20-21

In closing, let me add that I do not post these questions to breed anxiety in your heart, but that you may search out your own heart with words from the scriptures and that you may go to God in prayer for Him to reveal the truth about your heart to you, that you may respond in repentance and praise.

I write these things to you who believe in the name of the Son of God that you may know that you have eternal life. 1 John 5:13

Leave a comment

Filed under Authors, Faith, Robert Morgan, The Promise

Leave a Reply

