Security in His Hands

This past Sunday’s bible study took us into the gospel of John chapter 10. Jesus is teaching the crowd about himself calling himself both the gate of the sheep as well as the Good Shepherd. Toward the end of the chapter, he makes this statement:

My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me. I give them eternal life, and they will never perish, and no one will snatch them out of my hand. My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all, and no one is able to snatch them out of the Father’s hand. I and the Father are one. John 10:27-30

Isn’t that incredible! First of all, we may know Jesus and if we know him then we follow him. If we know and follow him, we will never perish (die) and, no one will snatch them out of his hand. Ah, this is very good news.

John tells us more as he writes his first letter:

Whoever believes in the Son of God has the testimony in himself. Whoever does not believe God has made him a liar, because he has not believed in the testimony that God has borne concerning his Son. And this is the testimony, that God gave us eternal life, and this life is in his Son. Whoever has the Son has life; whoever does not have the Son of God does not have life. I write these things to you who believe in the name of the Son of God that you may know that you have eternal life. 1 John 5:10-13

John’s desire is that we would know that we have eternal life. Do you know? If not, please pray over these passages and find someone to talk to if you’d like. Feel free to email me.

Here’s a great old song from someone who had read the words from John, prayed, and found confidence. Not because of what he had done to earn such, but because of in whom he was believing. If the Father gives us to Jesus and no one is greater than the Father, then surely nothing will snatch us out of the Father’s hand.

I Know Whom I Have Believed
Daniel Whittle

I know not why God’s wondrous grace
To me He hath made known,
Nor why, unworthy, Christ in love
Redeemed me for His own.

But I know Whom I have believèd,
And am persuaded that He is able
To keep that which I’ve committed
Unto Him against that day.

I know not how this saving faith
To me He did impart,
Nor how believing in His Word
Wrought peace within my heart.

But I know Whom I have believèd,
And am persuaded that He is able
To keep that which I’ve committed
Unto Him against that day.

I know not how the Spirit moves,
Convincing us of sin,
Revealing Jesus through the Word,
Creating faith in Him.

But I know Whom I have believèd,
And am persuaded that He is able
To keep that which I’ve committed
Unto Him against that day.

I know not what of good or ill
May be reserved for me,
Of weary ways or golden days,
Before His face I see.

But I know Whom I have believèd,
And am persuaded that He is able
To keep that which I’ve committed
Unto Him against that day.

I know not when my Lord may come,
At night or noonday fair,
Nor if I walk the vale with Him,
Or meet Him in the air.

But I know Whom I have believèd,
And am persuaded that He is able
To keep that which I’ve committed
Unto Him against that day.

Leave a comment

Filed under Authors, Daniel Whittle, Guitar.Instruments.Music, Tuesday's Tunes

Leave a Reply

