Everywhere I go, I see you

My daily reading is taking me into the section of Israel’s wanderings through the wilderness. Recently, while putting my sons to bed, I read from The Jesus Storybook Bible a couple of the beginning stories of Israel’s exodus from Egypt. While reading about how God led the Israelites with a pillar of cloud by day and fire by night, I longed for such a visible leading of God in my own life.

It’s easy to think that Joe Schmo has it better or easier than yourself for a myriad of reasons. After all, the Israelites saw the 10 plagues, the passover, the parting of the Red Sea, the pillar of cloud and of fire… God gave them quail and manna to eat, and gushed water from a rock! They should’ve been without excuse, yet when Moses had been on the mountain too long they quickly decided to craft their own idol and worship it instead.

Though I don’t have a pillar of cloud by day or fire by night to follow, God has given me something much greater: the Holy Spirit. In addition, he’s given the bible, even in my own language! I have seen lives changed, people healed, men and women to be born again to a living hope. Yes, I have seen miracles. I, too, have experienced the leading of God.

I am also without excuse. Thank you, God, for leading me. As I learn to listen to and obey the Holy Spirit, I become more and more to understand that everwhere I go, I see you…

I See You
by Rich Mullins

Lord You’re leading me with a cloud by day
And then in the night, the glow of a burning flame

And everywhere I go I see You

And You take my hand and You wash it clean
I know the promised land is light years ahead of me

And everywhere I go I see You

Well the eagle flies and the rivers run
I look thru the night and I can see the rising sun

And everywhere I go I see You

Well the grass will die and the flowers fall
But Your Word’s alive and it be will after all

And everywhere I go I see You

Leave a comment

Filed under Authors, Guitar.Instruments.Music, Rich Mullins, Tuesday's Tunes

Leave a Reply

