Love Takes Time… And Effort

Jo and I will have been married 10 years this coming March. It has been a wonderful 10 years. It has been a hard 10 years. I’ve said times before that if I’d known how hard it would be going into the marriage, I’m not as sure I would have entered into it, but I am so very glad I did.

It’s difficult to find music that will encourage me to love my wife and push through the hard times. Most of our culture seems built to encourage me to seek my own happiness and if what I’m doing doesn’t accomplish that goal, I should scrap that plan and simply start again.

Divorce is ugly and my heart breaks each time I hear of someone I know tossing their marriage away. Life is hard. Marriage is hard. Keeping my heart turned toward and tuned into my wife is hard: but it’s my job. It’s my duty. It’s my ultimate pleasure.

The work of growing together and serving her is what I signed up for nearly 10 years ago now. I’m certainly glad I did. It’s hard, but give it time.

Give it Time
by Andy Gullahorn

She locks the door every time I walk out
Even if I’m only taking out the trash
Her need to feel secure used to drive me mad
Now it’s one of the things I’ve grown to love

She swears she needs eight hours of sleeping
But can’t fall asleep until I am in bed
An early bird moved in to the night owl’s nest
And it’s one of the things I’ve grown to love

So give it time, give it time
You have to wait through the winter cold
For the spring sunshine
I’m the soil she’s the seed
Give it time and the flowers just grow on me

Sometimes I felt like giving up forever
When we’re fighting in some little civil war
But when we lay the weapons down
We find we’re closer than before
And that’s one of the things I’ve grown to love

So give it time, give it time
You have to wait through the winter cold
For the spring sunshine
I’m the soil she’s the seed
Give it time and the flowers just grow on me

Don’t throw in the towel

Love is nothing like what I expected
I had no idea it would expect so much of me
But it’s worth committing to
And if you don’t believe

Just give it time, give it time
You have to wait through the winter cold
For the spring sunshine
I’m the soil she’s the seed
Give it time and the flowers just grow on me

Click to listen to the song.

Leave a comment

Filed under Andy Gullahorn, Authors, Guitar.Instruments.Music, Tuesday's Tunes

Leave a Reply

