Find Rest, O Soul

There are times when my soul is troubled. Surely you have them as well.

This morning, I listened to a sermon where the preacher quoted from Psalms 42:

As a deer pants for flowing streams, so pants my soul for you, O God. My soul thirsts for God, for the living God. When shall I come and appear before God? My tears have been my food day and night, while they say to me all the day long, “Where is your God?” These things I remember, as I pour out my soul: how I would go with the throng and lead them in procession to the house of God with glad shouts and songs of praise, a multitude keeping festival. Why are you cast down, O my soul, and why are you in turmoil within me? Hope in God; for I shall again praise him, my salvation and my God. Psalm 42:1-6

The question from verse 5 erupted from the text: “Why are you cast down, O my soul…?” Indeed, why should I be?

There are many reasons that could be given. So much is ugly. So much is heartbreaking. Life is hard. Futility reigns over all our efforts. Any success seems to be followed by utter failure. Taxes, rising gas prices, bills, tires wear out, plumbing problems, a child with a broken arm, needed dental work, layoffs, foreclosures, bankruptcy, abuse of all sorts, rape, child neglect, infidelity, casual sex, abortions…

There is much for which we may despair, yet the psalmist declares the remedy: “Hope in God.”

Only God sees above the mess. Only God can orchestrate the ugly to create beauty.

Yes, I will hope in God. I will ask for the faith to trust in him and his wisdom and to follow him all my days.

In God, I will find rest for my weary soul.

Psalm 62
by Aaron Keyes and Stuart Townend

My soul finds rest in God alone, My Rock and my salvation,
A fortress strong against my foes, And I will not be shaken.
Though lips may bless and hearts may curse, And lies like arrows pierce me,
I’ll fix my heart on righteousness, I’ll look to Him who hears me.

O praise Him, hallelujah, My Delight and my Reward;
Everlasting, never failing, My Redeemer, my God.

Find rest, my soul, in God alone
Amid the world’s temptations;
When evil seeks to take a hold
I’ll cling to my salvation.
Though riches come and riches go,
Don’t set your heart upon them;
The fields of hope in which I sow
Are harvested in heaven.

I’ll set my gaze on God alone,
And trust in Him completely;
With every day pour out my soul,
And He will prove His mercy.
Though life is but a fleeting breath,
A sigh too brief to measure,
My King has crushed the curse of death
And I am His forever.

O praise Him, O praise Him, hallelujah, hallelujah,
O praise Him, O praise Him, hallelujah, hallelujah,
O praise Him, O praise Him, hallelujah! hallelujah!

Leave a comment

Filed under Aaron Keyes, Authors, Guitar.Instruments.Music, Hope, Stuart Townend, Tuesday's Tunes

Leave a Reply

