Being Made New

For those of you who, like me, do not come from a liturgical church tradition, today is Fat Tuesday, or Mardi Gras. I knew it was coming, but didn’t know it was this week until a co-worker mentioned Mardi Gras beads during the day yesterday.

Oh, you may be familiar with the New Orleans‘ celebration of Mardi Gras or perhaps one of many other off-shoots which emulate the southern Louisiana parties, but do you know why it exists?

Tomorrow is Ash Wednesday, which begins a period of 40 days before Easter which the liturgical calendar calls Lent. Traditionally, people will choose to fast (in part or in whole) during Lent which makes the Tuesday before a day of feasting – “Fat” Tuesday.

The last few years I have tried to be purposeful in thinking about and meditating on things pertaining to the cross, to Jesus’ sacrificial atonement for my sin. He took my penalty, took the death my sins had earned for me and in return gave me his righteousness that is mine by His grace through faith in Him, each and every day. As a result of his salvation in me, 2 Corinthians 5:17 tells me that I am a new creation – old things have passed away and behold, all things have become new. This is good news!

Which brings me to a song from Hillsong from years ago:

I Will Never Be the Same Again
by Hillsong

I will never be the same again,
I can never return, I’ve closed the door.
I will walk apart, I’ll run the race
And I will never be the same again.

I will never be the same again,
I can never return, I’ve closed the door.
I will walk apart, I’ll run the race
And I will never be the same again.

Fall like fire, soak like rain,
Flow like mighty waters, again and again.
Sweep away the darkness, burn away the chaff,
And let a flame burn to glorify Your name.

There are higher heights, there are deeper seas,
Whatever you need to do, Lord do in me.
The Glory of God fills my life,
And I will never be the same again.

Fall like fire, soak like rain,
Flow like mighty waters, again and again.
Sweep aways the darkness, burn away the chaff
And let a flame burn to glorify Your name.

Fall like fire, soak like rain,
Flow like mighty waters, again and again.
Sweep away the darkness, burn away the chaff,
And let a flame burn to glorify Your name.

I will never be the same again,
I can never return, I’ve closed the door.
I will walk the path, I will run the race
And I will never be the same again.
And I will never be the same again.
And I will never be the same again.

This has been a favorite of mine since college days. Are you a new creation? It’s only good news if you can know how to get in on it, ya know? Repent of your sin. Ask God for forgiveness. Pledge your trust to him with all your heart, soul, mind and strength. Find a church that will encourage you and help you grow into maturity.

Visit my good news page for more details.

Leave a comment

Filed under Guitar.Instruments.Music, Tuesday's Tunes

Leave a Reply

